Retial, Wholesale, and Department Store Union (RWDSU)

NEW YORK, NY – Today, Stuart Appelbaum, President of the Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Union (RWDSU), whose membership includes 45,000 members in New York, announced the union’s slate of endorsements in New York City. In addition to making endorsements in key open-seat City Council races for Carlina Rivera (CD-2), Keith Powers (CD-4), Diana Ayala (CD-8) and Justin Brannan (CD-43), the RWDSU has also made endorsements for incumbents including, citywide candidates Comptroller Stringer and Public Advocate James, in four Borough President races, and in 36 City Council races.

“At a time when Washington is failing us we must work to ensure our local elected officials rise up and represent our values. I am proud to announce the endorsement of four critical new faces running for seats in the New York City Council today and to put the strength of the RWDSU behind them and many incumbents that will fight to ensure that workers are heard in government,”said Stuart Appelbaum, President of the Retail, Wholesale & Department Store Union (RWDSU). “Carlina, Keith, Diana and Justin know what hard working families need in New York City to live and work here and I know they will write and support legislation that helps not just union members but all workers across our city. The RWDSU is ready to get to work on these campaigns and in support of the many elected officials running for re-election that we are endorsing today.”

The RWDSU endorsed Mayor de Blasio for re-election in the fall of 2016.

City- & Borough-wide Seats


Scott Stringer

Public Advocate

Tish James

Manhattan BP

Gale Brewer

Brooklyn BP

Eric Adams

Queens BP

Melinda Katz

Bronx BP

Ruben Diaz Jr.



Council Open Seats*


Carlina Rivera


Keith Powers


Diana Ayala

CD 43

Justin Brannan



Council Incumbents*

CD 1

 Margaret Chin

CD 3

 Corey Johnson

CD 5

 Ben Kallos

CD 6

 Helen Rosenthal

CD 7

 Mark Levine

CD 9

 Bill Perkins

CD 10 

Ydanis Rodriguez

CD 11

 Andrew Cohen

CD 12

 Andy King

CD 14

 Fernando Cabrera

CD 15

Ritchie Torres

CD 16

 Vanessa Gibson

CD 17

Rafael Salamanca

CD 19

 Paul Vallone

CD 20

 Peter Koo

CD 22

 Costa Constantinides

CD 23

 Barry Grodenchik

CD 24

 Rory Lancman

CD 25

 Daniel Dromm

CD 26

 Jimmy Van Bramer

CD 27

 I. Daneek Miller

CD 29

 Karen Koslowitz

CD 30

 Elizabeth Crowley

CD 31

 Donovan Richards

CD 33

 Stephen Levin

CD 35

 Laurie Cumbo

CD 36

Robert Cornegy

CD 38

 Carlos Menchaca

CD 39

 Brad Lander

CD 40

 Mathieu Eugene

CD 42

 Inez Barron

CD 45

 Jumaane Williams

CD 46

 Alan Maisel

CD 47

 Mark Treyger

CD 48

 Chaim Deutsch

CD 49

Deborah Rose


*Note: The RWDSU may make additional endorsements in seats not listed here later in the summer.